IPL Retention

With the Indian Premier League 2018 auction, franchises have settled the first phase of determining the basic make up of their sides at a player retention ceremony in Mumbai. The retention cut off date was January 4. Each franchise is entitled to retain atleast five players, under the Player Retention and the Right to match criteria. The right to match will come into effect during this auction. CSK popularly known as Chennai Super Kings is back in action after two years in suspension, but that the core group of players
that defined it as a side- M.S. Dhoni, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja have been retained for the upcoming season.
The most surprising retention of IPL’18 is of Sarfaraz Khan for RCB. After making an impressive debut in the 2015 IPL (111 runs in 13 matches @27.35 strike rate:156.33 while batting lower down the order). But he was dropped midway as according to Virat Kohli,
the youngster needed to improve on his fitness. However, after getting back in his fitness, Sarfaraz showed off his class when the
talented batsman cracked 132 (off 93 balls) and 70 (in 67 balls) against India U-19. The nyoung turk&n39;  continuation in RCB line-up is clearly a vote of confidence imposed in him by Kohli. Virat Kohli became the costeliest player to be retained when the Royal Challengers Banglorepaid a whooping Rs. 17 crore. Rajasthan Royals who also comes back in the game this season, have retained Australia Captain Steven Smith. Mumbai Indians, backed in action batsman Rohit Sharma, all rounder player Hardik Pandya and death overs expert Jaspreet Bumrah. Kolkata Knight Riders chose not to retain their skipper veteran batsman Gautam Gambhir, preferring West Indians mystery spinner Sunil Narine and all rounder Andre Russell.

Former Australia captain Ricky Ponting has been named as the new head coach of the Delhi Daredevils for the 2018 IPL season. DD decided to stick with Rishabh Pant, Chris Morris, and Shreyas Iyer. It was a bit of surprise that the Sunrisersn Hyderabad chose not to retain India opener Shikhar Dhawan even as they kept their skipper David Warner and India pace Bhuvaneshwar Kumar.



Diksha Tarnekar

Be the first to comment on "IPL Retention"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.